Results 2018

CPA hosted the large-format, print-only Will McCrum Memorial Competition for Portraiture on Tuesday 8th January. Now in its seventh year, the competition continues to attract some fabulous entries. This year Damien O’Malley from Dundalk Photographic Society had the unenviable task of judging the 70 prints submitted from 24 authors across 6 NIPA clubs.

It was no surprise that for the seventh year in a row the winner was a male mono portrait. Congratulations to Damian McDonald from Westcourt Camera Club who took first place with ‘Desi’. Desi himself is a previous member of CPA so it was lovely to see him in the club again, both in print form and in person! Second place went to CPA member Chelle McGaughey for ‘Our Dad’, whilst Aine Carbery from Focus Photography Club took third place with ‘Goddess’.

There were two Highly Commended images, ‘Rachelle’ by William Allen from CPA and ‘A Window to Conor’s Soul’ by Kirsty Timoney from Catchlight Camera Club. A further five images were Commended: ‘Jessica in Sari’ (William Allen, CPA), ‘Eva May’ (Martin Spackman, Westcourt), ‘Laugh Clown Laugh’ (Shirley O’Neill, Catchlight) and ‘The Mischief Maker’ (Marlene Hazlehurst, Ards Camera Club).

Our thanks to Damien for coming north to judge and to offer his comments at the prizegiving, and to everyone who came along on the night. Will McCrum and his work will continue to be remembered through your support of this competition in his memory. Huge congratulations to our winner Damian and to all those who were lucky enough to have images placed.

1st – Damian McDonald
2nd – Chelle McGaughey
3rd – Aine Carbery
HC – William Allen
HC – Kirsty Timoney
C – Martin Spackman
C – William Allen
C – Marlene Hazlehurst
C – Shirley O’Neill
C – William Allen